Saturday, 8 October 2011

Three Women Share the Nobel Peace Prize 2011.

This year's (2011) Nobel Peace prize has been won by 3 women, amongst them 2 Africans – Ellen Johnson Sirleaf and Leymah Gbowee (both from Liberia). The third winner Tawakkul Karman is from from Yemen.

According to the Nobel Peace website these women won the prize for “their non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women’s rights to full participation in peace-building work"

Ellen Johnson Sirleaf - Nobel Peace Laureate 2011
Ellen Johnson Sirleaf (73) is current president of Liberia and is also coincidentally Africa's first female elected head of state. She accepeted the prize on behalf of the Liberian people and said she shared the prize with them.

Leymah Roberta Gbowee - Nobel Peace Laureate 2011
Leymah Roberta Gbowee is a peace activist who is regognised for organising a peace movement (Women of Liberia Mass Action for Peace), largely responsible for ending the second Liberian civil war.

Tawakkul Karman -  Nobel Peace  Laureate 2011
Tawakkul Karman from Yemen is the first Arab woman to have won the award. She was recognised for her “leading role in the struggle for women's rights for democracy and peace”. Tawakkul heads up the press freedom campaign group Women Journalists Without Chains.

Obsevers are more accepting of this year's choice of laureates, than in 2009 when the Noble committee took the controversial decision to award the prize to Barack Obama (USA's president), despite the fact that the USA were involved in at least two wars abroad at the time.

Do you agree that these 3 women are role models for all women around the World?

To read more about the Nobel Peace Prize visit Nobel Peace Prize 

No comments: